Old Man Winter

So I moved to Amarillo July 20th, 2014 and when I got here there were a couple of things I need to get used to: 1. Making an almost daily stop at this place called Texas Tea. It’s literally like a frozen yogurt shop but for tea…there is a ton of variety…so tasty!! 2. The “smell” of money. Now, I’m not talking about taking money out of your pocket and smelling it (if you do that, you’re kinda weird) but I’m talking about poop…cow poop. If you’re not used to this smell, it will smack you upside the face when you least expect it and it seems to be worse when we’ve got any type of moisture.

One of the things I heard constantly when I moved here is that “We can have bad winters” and “If we get the right storm, we can get a lot of snow.” Pshhh! You see growing up in Albuquerque, it literally takes an act of God for us to get some snow, and when we do get snow, it could snow a couple of inches and then be gone by the end of the day. In fact just the other day Albuquerque got 5-8 inches and according to my brother, it was gone by the next day!! So that’s the type of winter I’ve grown accustomed to…cold temps, but not really a lot of snow.

So, fast forward to this winter season. I know for a fact that I have seen more snow this winter than what I have the entire 18 years I grew up in Albuquerque. Just from the months of December-February we’ve seen close to 18-20 inches total in the city of Amarillo. 18-20 inches!!! Now I know I have friends that live across the country and 18-20 inches isn’t much to some people, but for this coconut it’s a big thing! I’ve had some great experience like building an almost 6ft snow man and made an epic sledding video too.

I’ve said all that to say, as much as I love winter and as much as I enjoying being colder than hot, I’m so ready for Old Man Winter to be over. It’s been fun, and I’ve had made some great memories, but you can gracefully make your exit now and not leave any more snow, sleet, freezing rain in your wake.

Here’s a link to my sledding video

Sledding

Leave a Reply

